Four of the previously announced eleven candidates in the UCDSU Executive Elections have dropped out of their respective sabbatical races. This now leaves the SU with only one contested race, down from the four contested races the Union had announced just two weeks ago.

The Returning Officer of University College Dublin Students’ Union, Darryl Horan confirmed to The College Tribune that just 7 candidates are left running in the Executive Elections next week.

The dropped-out candidates are Lakshmi Palavesam, previously running for Graduate Officer; Katie Connolly who just dropped out of the Welfare race, and two candidates from the Ents race, Elliot Meinhart and Amy Barter.

The College Tribune understands that these candidates have dropped out of their races for myriad personal reasons, with no central theme behind the candidates dropping out.

UCDSU Election Posters – Photo by Hugh Dooley / College Tribune

As a result of these candidates withdrawing, the only position with more than one candidate is the Campaigns and Engagement Officer; former AHSS College Officer Miranda Bauer, and current Science College Officer Ryan Corley

The remaining races for the sabbatical roles in the UCDSU Elections are uncontested; the only candidate for the role of President was the current Education Officer, Martha Ní Ríada, and only Sarah McGrath is running for Education Officer.

Current Graduate officer, Marc Matouc, is rerunning for his current position and the position of Welfare Officer will be contested by Jill Nelis. Entertainments Officer will see Neo O’Herlihy as the only candidate running.

Hugh Dooley – Co-Lead of Investigations