University College Dublin (UCD) are set to get their 2021 SSE Airtricity League of Ireland First Division season underway on Friday, the 26th of March. The fixtures for this year were confirmed this week, with only one team yet to be decided heading into the season.

The Students will get their campaign underway with a home encounter against Athlone Town at the UCD Bowl, while Cork City welcome local rivals Cobh Ramblers to Turners Cross. Shelbourne will travel to Eamonn Deacy Park to face Galway United and Wexford welcome Cabinteely.

The fixtures have been released before all licensing has been finalised, meaning that one on the 10 teams is still yet to be decided. Included in the new 10-team format are: Athlone Town, Bray Wanderers, Cabinteely, Cobh Ramblers, Cork City, Galway United, Shelbourne, UCD, Wexford – and one team designated as TBC ahead of the outcome of the licensing process later this month, which still involves all candidates.

If additional clubs are successful with their application for a First Division licence, and additional teams are granted entry to the First Division, the fixtures will be amended accordingly at the given time, meaning that all fixtures are subject to change.

SSE Airtricity First Division 2020
UCD defend against a well-place Athlone Town Corner. SSE Airtricity First Division 2020. Photo: Stephen Kisbey-Green

As it stands, all teams will play 27 matches throughout the regular season, which is currently set to end on Friday, the 29th of October. The First Division play-off series will begin on Friday, the 5th of November with two-legged semi-finals ahead of the First Division play-off final on Friday, the 19th of November at a neutral venue.

The winner of this match will then face the ninth-position Premier Division team in the promotion/relegation play-off final in the week ending Sunday, the 28th of November.

UCD’s SSE Airtricity First Division Fixtures:

Series 1    
26 March19:45UCDAthlone TownUCD Bowl
Series 2    
3 April19:00Cobh RamblersUCDSt. Colman’s Park
Series 3    
9 April19:45UCDBray WanderersUCD Bowl
Series 4    
16 April19:45UCDCabinteelyUCD Bowl
Series 5    
23 April19:45Galway UnitedUCDEamonn Deacy Park
Series 6    
30 April20:00WexfordUCDFerrycarrig Park
Series 7    
7 May19:45UCDTBCUCD Bowl
Series 8    
14 May19:45UCDCork CityUCD Bowl
Series 9    
21 May19:45ShelbourneUCDTolka Park
Series 10    
28 May19:45Athlone TownUCDAthlone Town Stadium
Series 11    
11 June19:45UCDCobh RamblersUCD Bowl
Series 12    
18 June19:30Bray WanderersUCDCarlisle Grounds
Series 13    
25 June19:45CabinteelyUCDStradbrook
Series 14    
2 July19:45UCDGalway UnitedUCD Bowl
Series 15    
9 July19:45UCDWexfordUCD Bowl
Series 16    
16 July19:45TBCUCDTBC
Series 17    
30 July19:45Cork CityUCDTurners Cross
Series 18    
6 August19:45UCDShelbourneUCD Bowl
Series 19    
13 August19:45UCDAthlone TownUCD Bowl
Series 20    
21 August19:00Cobh RamblersUCDSt. Colman’s Park
Series 21    
3 September19:45UCDBray WanderersUCD Bowl
Series 22    
10 September19:45UCDCabinteelyUCD Bowl
Series 23    
24 September19:45Galway UnitedUCDEamonn Deacy Park
Series 24    
1 October20:00WexfordUCDFerrycarrig Park
Series 25    
8 October19:45UCDTBCUCD Bowl
Series 26    
15 October19:45UCDCork CityUCD Bowl
Series 27    
29 October19:45ShelbourneUCDTolka Park

Stephen Kisbey-Green – Co-Editor