On Wednesday, July 1st, The National Student Media Awards held their 20th annual award ceremony. Former Editor Conor Capplis was up for Editor of the Year, and the College Tribune was nominated for Newspaper of the Year. This year is also the first time the Smedia’s have been run online, due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Adam Boland was nominated for Blog of the Year, while current Co-Editor Stephen Kisbey-Green was nominated for Sports Photographer of the Year, while Neil Stokes was nominated for Sports Writer of the Year.

The Editor of the Year category was won by our very own Conor Capplis!!! GOWAN CONOR! While The University Express from UCC won the final award, the Newspaper of the Year.

When asked what it means to him, outgoing Editor-in-Chief Conor Capplis said: “I’d like to thank my Deputy Editor Alex Lohier and everyone on the team last year for making it the best damn paper in student journalism!”

Bhí Cecily Nic Cionnaith, mar eagarthóir Gaeilge don College Tribune, ainmnithe don ghradam Iriseoireacht trí Ghaeilge – Scríofa freisin.

Aoife Mawn of the University Observer won features writer of the year for news and current affairs, while Neil Stokes of the College Tribune lost to Ronan Coughlan of UL for Sports -Writer Of The Year.

The winner of the blog of the year was Sadhbh Sullivan with ‘Sadhbhers’, with UCD’s Adam Boland missing out. The Tribune’s Stephen Kisbey-Green was pipped to sports photographer of the year.

The University Observer was snubbed by An Focal from University of Limerick. Meanwhile, UCD’s OTwo were beaten by Grapevine from UL in the layout and design magazine award.

David O’Sullivan of UCD was nominated for TV Production of the Year, however, lost to Rachel Gregan from Ballyfermot College of Further Education. Jade Wilson of the University Observer won Journalist of the Year – National Media.

Aoife Mawn of the University Observer won Features Writer of the Year for News and Current affairs, while Neil Stokes of the College Tribune lost to Ronan Coughlan of UL for Sports Writer Of The Year.

Luke Murphy, Co-Editor.