A new technological university for the North-West region of the country will be established next year. The announcement came from the Minister for Further and Higher Education, Research and Innovation, Simon Harris, who proclaimed it to be “a fantastic day for higher education in the West and North-West”. 

The new TU will see the integration of Letterkenny IT, Sligo IT and Galway-Mayo IT across eight existing campuses. The announcement came after a successful application was made on behalf of the three Institutes of Technology as a part of the Connacht-Ulster Alignment (CUA). 

Dr Seán Duffy, CUA executive project lead, said it was the culmination of “many years of work by students, staff and stakeholders” across the alliance. This will be the country’s fourth technological university joining TU Dublin, Munster TU and TU Shannon, which began operating as a TU in October 2021.

In an announcement on the government’s website in October, Minister Harris said that the university will “increase higher education access, drive enhanced regional development and increase opportunities for students, staff, business and enterprise, and local communities.”

Former education minister and TD for Donegal, Joe McHugh, commended the new establishment to be an “incredible day for higher education in the country and the region”.

The new Technological University will go into operation early next year, however, its name is still unknown. But students graduating from Letterkenny, Sligo and Galway-Mayo IT in this academic year have been assured that they will obtain a university degree.

Kerri Pender – Reporter