The new Students’ Union Independent Appeals & Disciplinary Board (IADB) was approved at the most recent SU Council meeting. 

The IADB is a supervisory board for the Union, created to provide independent adjudication on conduct complaints, disciplinary matters, and other related issues. According to the Union’s constitution, it serves as the body’s “ultimate judicial authority”. 

The new team is nominated by an outgoing SU President and must include two former sabbatical officers of the Union (including a former President), a practising barrister or solicitor, and at least two former members who have not been part of the Union for at least 3 years. Furthermore, at least two of the members of the IADB must be a woman. 

Notably, all of the candidates nominated were former sabbatical officers. No objections were posed to the qualifications of the candidates, and the new IADB was approved by Council. 

The new members are:

Gary Redmon, former President of the UCDSU and USI

Eoin Heffernan, former ENTS Officer for the UCDSU

Róisín O’Mara, qualified barrister, and lecturer

Lexi Kilmartin, former UCDSU Education Officer and Arts, History, and Social Science College Officer 

Michael Gallagher, former President and Welfare Officer of the UCDSU.

Jack McGee – Reporter