Just eight candidates have been successfully nominated as candidates in the UCDSU Executive Elections. Three candidates are campaigning for the Presidency and the remaining sabbatical elections will be uncontested races.

Current UCDSU Welfare Officer Ruairí Power, former Law College Officer Ed Leonard, and current Business College Officer Liam Coyle are the candidates for SU President.

AHSS Masters class rep Darryl Horan is the sole candidate for Campaigns and Engagement Officer in one of five uncontested races. Horan ran unsuccessfully for the position of Education Officer, losing in a close race to Hannah Bryson.

The other uncontested races are as follows: Aoife Bracken for Education Officer, sitting Ents Officer Sarah Michalek will rerun uncontested, Molly Greenough for Welfare and Carla Gummerson will run uncontested for a second term as Graduate Officer.

Nominations for the elections began at 5 pm on the 22nd of February, hopefuls required just 75 signatures this year to secure their place on the ballot. In light of the ongoing covid-19 pandemic, the UCDSU Returning Officer reduced the number of signatures needed from 150, the figure needed in the elections for the 2019/20 academic year.

UCDSU College Officers

There are 5 uncontested races in the College Officer Elections, with the Arts, Humanities and Social Science Officers, and Science Officer the only contested positions. There are no nominated candidates for the College of Business.

The full list of candidates are:
Law Officer: Eoin Martin
Science Officer: Eoin Fagan & Billy Egan
Health Science Officer: Louise Costello
Engineering and Architecture Officer: Meserah Abdullah
Arts, Humanities and Social Science Officer: Ronan Clooney, Shane Lynch & Miranda Bauer
Business Officer: N/A
Agriculture, Food and Vet Science Officer: Maria Wall
Irish Language Officer: Louise Mahon

Stay tuned to The College Tribune for full coverage of the UCDSU Executive Elections.

Hugh Dooley – News Editor