There was spectacle and even some controversy, diagnosis but in the end UCD repeated last year’s fine result by taking three of the four titles on offer at the Colours Races in Dublin City Centre on Saturday March 16th .

Only the first race of the day, seek the women’s novice crown, went to Trinity on a day of excellent conditions and colourful crowd support on the eight bridges of the course from O’Connell Bridge to St James’s Gate.

UCD had a stunning start in the Gannon Cup for men’s senior eights. Their big crew, rowing on the generally less favoured south station, led by a canvas by the Ha’penny Bridge.

By the time the crews passed the Four Courts, UCD had a clearwater advantage and the eventual verdict was “easily”.

Offaly man Dave Neale beamed afterwards – he had become the record-breaker in this event, with six Gannon Cup titles.

In the best battle of the day, the women’s senior eights race for the Corcoran Cup, UCD also got a great start off the south station, but each time they tried to extend their lead to a length or more Trinity bit back.

One of Trinity’s big pushes came in front of the Four Courts as they clawed their way up the UCD boat about a quarter of a length, but the admirably composed UCD women were rock solid in their execution and held on to win by half a length.

The women’s novice eight was a straightforward win for Trinity, but the men’s equivalent was packed full of incident. Trinity had a spectacular crash into the wall after coming through Watling Street Bridge, the final one on the course, and UCD, who were already leading, crossed the line as winners. The Trinity cox, Ciara Sheehan, explained that the wire controlling her steering had snapped. UCD had earlier taken the unmarked south arch on Winetavern Street Bridge, prompting a Trinity complaint, but race umpire Leo Gibson said he had told UCD to take this line to avoid an underwater object.


UCD Moorehead Crew (Novice Ladies): Stroke ;Rebecca Lait 7: Paula Campbell 6: Meadhbh Ní Chléirigh 5: Emma Ní Néill 4: Michelle McCourt 3: Breanna Larsen 2: Eva Nugent Bow: Laura Ryan Cox: Shauna Fitzsimons

TCD Moorehead Crew:Cox Kirsty Patterson Stroke Claire buttanshaw 7 laura daly 6 Sarah Healy 5 dearbhla Moore 4 Eimear duff 3 Emily ranson 2 Emily Jordan Bow laura McKay

UCD Corcoran Cup (Ladies Senior Race)Str: Bronwyn Lait (4th Colours)7: Aoife Gilligan (2nd Colours)6: Grace Collins (2nd Colours)5: Claire Ní Reachtagáin (3rd Colours)4: Siofra Bennett (4th Colours)3: Orla Finnegan (1st Colours)2: Karen Joy (2nd Colours)Bow: Aoife O’Riordan (1st Colours)Cox: Ciara McGowan (2nd Colours)

TCD LBC Corcoran Cup; Cox: Niamh Williams Stroke: Ruth Morris7: Georgia Richard6: Katie Phelan5: Susannah Cass4: Rebecca Deasy3: Keira Buttanshaw2: Sinead RodgerBow: Gill Crowe

UCDBC Gannon Cup Crew (Senior Men):Cox: Kirsten Joyce (1st colours)S: Peter Grogan (3rd colours)7: Gearoid Duane(3rd colours)6: Joseph Nihotte (1st colours)5: David Neale (6th colours)4: Adrian Sheehan (1st colours)3: Liam McCarthy (1st colours)2: Michael Bailey (1st colours)B: Patrick Moore (1st colours)

DUBC Gannon Cup Crew (Novice Men) Cox: Clementine YostS: Matt Brophy7: Will Hurley6: Paul Flaherty5: Dillon Rooney4: Eoin McCarthy3: Aidan Harwood2: Luke AchesonB: Patrick Jacques

UCDBC Dan Quinn Shield Crew:Cox: Lucy-Anne O’SullivanS: James Ryan7: Robert Jones6: Cian Keogh5: Seamus Kennedy4: Eochy O’Connor3: Joseph Bollard2: Sam McDonaldB: Daniel Craven

DUBC Dan Quinn Shield CrewCox: Ciara SheehanS: Michael Corcoran7: Alex Rumball6: Fiachra Maguire5: Louis Mahon4: Niall Twaddell3: Brian MacAnnraoi2: Patrick MoreauB: Alex Leslie

-UCD Sports Writers